Male Retriever, to neuter or not to neuter

A place to discuss all things pets, vets and animal care.
buksida

Male Retriever, to neuter or not to neuter

Post by buksida »

In a bit of a quandary here over whether to get our dog neutered or not, and I have no knowledge of these things so thoughts/advice are welcome. He is a 15-month-old Golden Retriever.

He is getting a little boisterous (unusual for the breed I know), especially with the other dogs in the area which are scrappers. He also barks a lot at night so we've been keeping him inside.

Would neutering calm him down a bit and stop him from being so aggressive with the other dogs (who gang up on him in packs due to his size)? I guess it may also stop the barking and him chasing females when they're in heat?

I presume the downside is weight gain and never being able to breed him with another Retriever.

marlo.jpg
marlo.jpg (164.04 KiB) Viewed 1060 times

Edit: He is not a house dog or one of those little 'condo rats' that can stay inside all the time, we have no fences and all dogs in the neighbourhood are free to roam about.
Who is the happier man, he who has braved the storm of life and lived or he who has stayed securely on shore and merely existed? - Hunter S Thompson
PeteC

Re: Male Retriever, to neuter or not to neuter

Post by PeteC »

If you have no plans to breed him then yes, you should get him neutered. It will stop all the behaviour you mentioned, but not immediately. He's late at 15 months getting it done and after neutering it will take some months for him to stop doing all the things he should stop doing. Not to ever display any of it at all, it should be done around 6 months for a large breed dog.

We had two Goldens for years here, male and female, and they were fixed at 6 months. All went well and they were great dogs, although the male never learned to lift his leg to pee. :D