Thai red tea

Medical issues, doctors, dentists, opticians and hospitals in Hua Hin and Thailand.
butch
Rookie
Rookie

Thai red tea

Post by butch »

have you ever heard of thai red tea having any medicinal qualities?
HHTel
Hero
Hero

Re: red tea

Post by HHTel »

Lol. It's red because it's coloured with food colourings. Add milk and it'll turn orange. No matter what the colour, the base is just TEA!
The base of a Thai iced tea is tea, spices, and (surprise, surprise!) food coloring. Thai tea comes out a dark red color when brewed but the addition of milk turns it into bright orange.Jul 7, 2020
handdrummer
Addict
Addict

Re: Thai red tea

Post by handdrummer »

There is a South African red tea called Rooibos (sp?) that has reported medicinal properties.
sateeb
Rock Star
Rock Star

Post by sateeb »

handdrummer wrote: Thu Oct 15, 2020 1:09 pm There is a South African red tea called Rooibos (sp?) that has reported medicinal properties.
I've been drinking Rooibos for a few months now. It's quite tasty and is available at Tops or online at Lazada. Cost about 220 baht for 24 sachets.
“Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

― George Carlin
“The further a society drifts from the truth, the more it will hate those who speak it.” -George Orwell.
HHTel
Hero
Hero

Post by HHTel »

Rooibos is not actually a 'tea' rather a brew using dried leaves from a shrub grown in SA. It is not related to real tea.
However it does appear to have beneficial qualities.

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/ro ... ITLE_HDR_3
caller
Hero
Hero

Post by caller »

All teas have health benefits. Best without milk and sugar inn the case of black tea.
Talk is cheap
HHTel
Hero
Hero

Post by HHTel »

I'll stick to gin and tonic. That always makes me feel good......
STEVE G
Hero
Hero

Post by STEVE G »