Surfing in Hua Hin

So what is going on around here and where does it happen? This section is for discussion on local events, festivals, and holidays as well as activities and things to do.
Big Boy

Surfing in Hua Hin

Post by Big Boy »

I've been visiting or living in Hua Hin for 20 years now - much if the time on or near the beach. I saw something today that I've never seen before. The waves weren't huge, but larger than normal, and there were dozens queuing to catch their wave. There was plenty of full blown surfing this afternoon.

At first, I thought freak conditions, but how many people have a surf board in their garage waiting for waves in Hua Hin?

Just wondering if this is a regular feature of the South Takiab Beach and I've been walking around with my eyes closed.
Championship Stoke City 3 - 0 Plymouth Argyle :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Points 48; Position 20
Bamboo Grove

Re: Surfing in Hua Hin

Post by Bamboo Grove »

My brother and a nephew were just visiting Hua Hin and they sent me a photo of my nephew surfing. No big waves but still possible. I didn't ask them for details where they were, though.
Bamboo Grove

Post by Bamboo Grove »

My nephew said it was Takiab beach and they rent out surfboards from the Riad hotel.
Ryobi1
Novice
Novice

Post by Ryobi1 »

Not something I've ever seen here before either but I guess where there's a wave it's possible. Never tried it myself.. But the surf is fairly tame here... Might give it a whirl one day
STEVE G
Hero
Hero

Post by STEVE G »

When I was out there in December and there was a bit of a storm, there were a few people trying to surf off Takiap beach but I think the waves were what surfers call "ankle snappers".
Ms Tigger
Rookie
Rookie

Post by Ms Tigger »

I've done body boarding at Cha Am a few times but it's a short ride in. Maybe a bit better around the area of beach near the Ibis in Hua Hin, but generally speaking it's not real good surfing round here on a regular basis.
It's all good :cheers:
Big Boy