Underwater Obstacles as you approach Suvarnabhumi

Sub-forum for discussion on air travel, airports, and airlines.
Big Boy

Underwater Obstacles as you approach Suvarnabhumi

Post by Big Boy »

I flew into Suvarnabhumi on Thursday by a route that I've never used before. The plane passed the airport on the right, flew out to sea, did a u-turn and returned to land at Suvarnabhumi.

As we went out to sea, I could see a series of small (man-made???) islands with underwater tentacles. There were quite a few of these beasties. I've tried to find them on Google Earth, but that part of the sea has been pixelated out. I'm curious - does anybody know what they are please?
Championship Stoke City 3 - 0 Plymouth Argyle :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Points 48; Position 20
PeteC

Re: Underwater Obstacles as you approach Suvarnabhumi

Post by PeteC »

Just a guess is it's where treated sewage wastewater is discharged into the sea, after it's pumped from the treatment plant on the mainland. Hopefully treated?! :shock:
Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed. Source
Nereus
Hero
Hero

Post by Nereus »

They may be air navigation aids, such as VOR / NDB or what is called the "outer marker" on an instrument approach. From the air the approach to Suvarnabhumi from the south is not very far from the coast, so limited ground area for such equipment.

Bear in mind that an aircraft 10 or 15 miles out still has several thousand feet of altitude and needs to know it is lined up and on the correct glide path.

It is only at this time of year when the prevailing winds are from the north and north east that an approach from the south is in use.
May you be in heaven half an hour before the devil know`s you`re dead!
Nereus
Hero
Hero

Post by Nereus »