Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Technology, computers, internet, websites, mobiles, cameras, audio and video.
SPONSORS: Hua Hin Web Design
pst
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 10:08 pm

Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by pst » Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:56 am

:o I an considering to change from the copper network to fibre optic with one of the 3BB packages. 3BB offer a Huawei router with an internal antenna. I am looking for an alternative router fitted with diversity antennas for better signal range/wall penetration that will directly accept a fibre optic cable fly lead. Any advice on this would be appreciated. P.

GroveHillWanderer
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 10:48 am
Location: Nong Kae

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by GroveHillWanderer » Fri Jul 21, 2017 11:28 am

When I had a 3BB ADSL subscription I used my own router with it, by copying the settings from the 3BB router. I dare say you could do the same with a fibre optic router.

Alternatively, you could try a different service provider. The router currently provided with a True fibre optic subscription is a HuMAX HG100RE with dual external antennae that seem to have a fairly good range. You can check on their website if they have fibre optic available in your area.

mikeonthai
Novice
Novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 7:21 am

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by mikeonthai » Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:05 pm

The Huawei 3BB router is a dual external antenna. Not great, but not bad either.

User avatar
huahin4ever
Guru
Guru
Posts: 558
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:07 pm
Location: Hua Hin

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by huahin4ever » Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:16 pm

Today I checked my Internet speed with my 3BB fiber optic line both using network cable connected direct to my modem and over the built-in wifi from the same router. I have the 200/100 package. My modem is Huawei HG8245H. Tested the speed using www.speedtest.net towards 3bb's server in Bangkok. Well here are the surprisingly results obtained:

With the network cable connected to the router and to my laptop (wifi switched off on my laptop) I got more than 200Mb download speed and more than 100Mb upload speed!

With wifi connected and laptop very close to the router, I got around 65Mb download speed and 55Mb upload speed.

My question is how to improve my wifi speed? Is this router's wifi of poor quality? Can I buy a different wifi router and plug it straight into one of the network ports on the Huawei, or do I need to setup the Huawei in bridge mode? If it needs to be in bridge mode I need to access the interface of the router, and 3bb has not given me any admin password. I know the IP is 192.68.1.1. I have tried to find the admin password online, but the only solution I found (Youtube video)

didn't work for my router.

Any advice of how to improve my wifi speed would be greatly appreciated.
YNWA

silverbird
Member
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 10:06 am

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by silverbird » Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:48 pm

I have been on 3BB fiber 200/100 since it was available to me. When I a year ago wanted to replace the router I found out I had no choice but to keep the provided 3BB router. But by bridging I could disable the WiFI function in it and add-on a separate box giving me the function I was missing. I decided to forget about it as I found it too complicated to do myself.

User avatar
404cameljockey
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1323
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:14 am

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by 404cameljockey » Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:35 pm

pst wrote:
Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:56 am
:o I an considering to change from the copper network to fibre optic with one of the 3BB packages. 3BB offer a Huawei router with an internal antenna. I am looking for an alternative router fitted with diversity antennas for better signal range/wall penetration that will directly accept a fibre optic cable fly lead. Any advice on this would be appreciated. P.
One of the 3BB fibre packages comes with both a router and a range extender included in the cost. Not sure how you feel about Thai workmen installing Cat5 around your house though, unless you already have it behind the walls. They usually just want to tack it on the wall, over my dead body.

If you pay for 12 months up front you can also get some discount.

User avatar
404cameljockey
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1323
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:14 am

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by 404cameljockey » Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:55 pm

huahin4ever wrote:
Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:16 pm
Today I checked my Internet speed with my 3BB fiber optic line both using network cable connected direct to my modem and over the built-in wifi from the same router. I have the 200/100 package. My modem is Huawei HG8245H. Tested the speed using www.speedtest.net towards 3bb's server in Bangkok. Well here are the surprisingly results obtained:

With the network cable connected to the router and to my laptop (wifi switched off on my laptop) I got more than 200Mb download speed and more than 100Mb upload speed!

With wifi connected and laptop very close to the router, I got around 65Mb download speed and 55Mb upload speed.

My question is how to improve my wifi speed? Is this router's wifi of poor quality? Can I buy a different wifi router and plug it straight into one of the network ports on the Huawei, or do I need to setup the Huawei in bridge mode? If it needs to be in bridge mode I need to access the interface of the router, and 3bb has not given me any admin password. I know the IP is 192.68.1.1. I have tried to find the admin password online, but the only solution I found (Youtube video)

didn't work for my router.

Any advice of how to improve my wifi speed would be greatly appreciated.
I saw this posted for this router with a 3BB fibre connection:
user : telecomadmin
pass : admintelecom

Or maybe just ask 3BB for the password, if they have configured the router? I realise I'm suggesting you talk to 3BB - easier said than done, I know.

I think the default for Huawei is usually user/password admin/admin, but ISPs in this part of the world tend to change the p/w. And are you sure the IP addy is 192.68.1.1? It's usually 192.168. and then two blocks of 2 or 3 digits.

pst
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by pst » Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:24 pm

404cameljockey wrote:
Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:35 pm
pst wrote:
Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:56 am
:o I an considering to change from the copper network to fibre optic with one of the 3BB packages. 3BB offer a Huawei router with an internal antenna. I am looking for an alternative router fitted with diversity antennas for better signal range/wall penetration that will directly accept a fibre optic cable fly lead. Any advice on this would be appreciated. P.
One of the 3BB fibre packages comes with both a router and a range extender included in the cost. Not sure how you feel about Thai workmen installing Cat5 around your house though, unless you already have it behind the walls. They usually just want to tack it on the wall, over my dead body.

If you pay for 12 months up front you can also get some discount.
Thank you for your advice and thoughts. I have have gone ahead with 3bb fibre to replace copper.
The router provided is adequate speed wise however signal range/wall penetration was an issue. This was overcome by using wifi enabled access points which has now given me the coverage required. Whilst speed was not a major issue continuity of connection was my main priority. Thankfully no need to to hardwire with Cat 5e or 6!

User avatar
buksida
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16659
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 12:25 pm
Location: south of sanity
Contact:

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by buksida » Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:02 am

huahin4ever wrote:
Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:16 pm
Today I checked my Internet speed with my 3BB fiber optic line both using network cable connected direct to my modem and over the built-in wifi from the same router. I have the 200/100 package. My modem is Huawei HG8245H. Tested the speed using www.speedtest.net towards 3bb's server in Bangkok. Well here are the surprisingly results obtained:
Testing the speed to a local server doesn't give you accurate results - you're only testing the local Thai network which will obviously be faster than international bandwidth. To get a better idea of your internet speed you should test to servers in the US (which is were most of the websites us farangs look at are hosted).

I used a Linksys N600 range extender to send our wifi next door, but as you know this will only boost the wifi signal - not the internet speed.
Who is the happier man, he who has braved the storm of life and lived or he who has stayed securely on shore and merely existed? - Hunter S Thompson

User avatar
huahin4ever
Guru
Guru
Posts: 558
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:07 pm
Location: Hua Hin

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by huahin4ever » Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:51 am

Well I looked underneath the fiber gateway from 3bb and the login details were there. I managed to login but it is not possible to set the supplied gateway/router to bridge mode.

I did some more testing and again the wifi speed is much lower than the speed when connected with cable (this has nothing to do with speed internally in Thailand or to other countries). I'm basically doing tests towards the same server either here in Thailand or to a server outside Thailand with the wifi and with ethernet cable directly into the router. The wifi speed is only around 50-70Mbps and with cable 210Mbps.

So here is what I did. I went to Bluport and bought a new wifi router. I bought this one: https://www.linksys.com/th/p/P-EA8300/

I logged into my gateway/router from 3bb, switched off the built-in wifi, and connected the new router to one of the LAN ports and set-up the new router as the wifi access point.

And WOW and VOILA my wifi speed is up to nearly the same speed as when I connect with cable! In addition I have better coverage and I have now 3 band wifi (1 x 2.4Ghz and 2 x 5Ghz). and since I have all fairly new laptop, tablet and phones, I have so called "ac" wifi on all my thingies and enjoy maximum wifi speeds between 100 and 200Mbps. Which is a enormous improvement from my previous wifi supplied by the 3bb supplied modem/gateway.

Only downside is that this new wifi router was a bit expensive setting me back 6400 baht. But for me well spent money.
YNWA

User avatar
huahin4ever
Guru
Guru
Posts: 558
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:07 pm
Location: Hua Hin

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by huahin4ever » Fri Dec 22, 2017 11:11 am

I forgot to show my speed from Speedtest.net. This is the speed I get with my new wifi router using my laptop and connected with wifi only (not cable):
Bangkok server:
Speedtest.JPG
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/6901084582

Norway server:
Oslo.JPG
And here is a test to New York using Speedtest Beta:
New York.JPG
New York.JPG (44.2 KiB) Viewed 761 times
And California:
California.JPG
California.JPG (45.4 KiB) Viewed 761 times
YNWA

User avatar
laser
Member
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 5:17 pm
Location: HH/EU/Oz

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by laser » Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:24 pm

huahin4ever wrote:
Fri Dec 22, 2017 11:11 am
I forgot to show my speed from Speedtest.net.
Try these for more realistic results:

http://testmy.net

https://www.speedguide.net/speedtest/

User avatar
buksida
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16659
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 12:25 pm
Location: south of sanity
Contact:

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by buksida » Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:36 pm

Told you, that is a helluva difference testing to a Thai server than an international one, you're getting less than 25% of your advertised bandwidth.
Who is the happier man, he who has braved the storm of life and lived or he who has stayed securely on shore and merely existed? - Hunter S Thompson

User avatar
huahin4ever
Guru
Guru
Posts: 558
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:07 pm
Location: Hua Hin

Re: RE: Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by huahin4ever » Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:46 pm

buksida wrote:Told you, that is a helluva difference testing to a Thai server than an international one, you're getting less than 25% of your advertised bandwidth.
Yes I know, but previously I had only approx. 20-30% of the above speeds over wifi. For example the speed to the Bangkok server was only approx. 60Mbps down and 50Mbps upload. As you see now my wifi speed is over 200Mbps down and over 100Mbps upload. A remarkable improvement.

Previosly one of the tv channels I use to watch in Norway was changing between HD and SD quality, but mostly it was SD. Now it constantly stays on in HD and never buffers, so I both feel the improvement and physically sees it on my TV and in tests. For me the purchase of a new wifi router was totally worth it compared to the poor wifi from the Huawei gateway/router supplied by 3BB.
YNWA

User avatar
404cameljockey
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1323
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:14 am

Re: Fibre Optic router for 3BB

Post by 404cameljockey » Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:49 pm

buksida wrote:
Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:36 pm
Told you, that is a helluva difference testing to a Thai server than an international one, you're getting less than 25% of your advertised bandwidth.
But your fibre connection to the local ISP's gateway is the one that shows whether you have a good connection or not. What happens when you connect to overseas IP addresses (again, via your local ISP's gateway) is another matter. If it's not as fast you still can't complain that you don't have the service/speed you paid for, unless you have taken one of these packages which is supposed to be specifically for people wanting to connect to overseas sites (isn't that all of us?...), but I have no idea what that is supposed to give you, maybe a better contention ratio to increase your bandwith?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 404cameljockey and 4 guests