Aspirin

Medical issues, doctors, dentists, opticians and hospitals in Hua Hin and Thailand.
Nereus
Hero
Hero

Aspirin

Post by Nereus »

I guess most people, at least English people, that watch TV may have run across Dr. Michael Mosely and one of his programs tilted "Trust me I'm a Doctor". A while back his subject was Aspirin and its uses and or shortcomings.

He interviewed two respected English professors separately. One of them came out in full support of using Aspirin as a viable and useful drug used to help with preventing strokes.

The other professor was vehemently against it! Aspirin is known to damage the stomach lining, but the type of tablet prescribed for thinning the blood is not swallowed, rather it is absorbed by placing the tablet under the tongue.

As Big Boy has posted, either way should be on advice of a doctor or cardiologist.
May you be in heaven half an hour before the devil know`s you`re dead!
oakdale160
Rock Star
Rock Star

Re: Aspirin

Post by oakdale160 »

Taking even the small dose "baby aspirin" (81mg) you must take steps to avoid stomach irritation--take the coated version and never take it on an empty stomach.
Nereus
Hero
Hero

Post by Nereus »

oakdale160 wrote: Tue Jun 26, 2018 11:20 pm Taking even the small dose "baby aspirin" (81mg) you must take steps to avoid stomach irritation--take the coated version and never take it on an empty stomach.
If you read that which I posted, do not swallow it! Cardiprin contains 45mg of Glycine and is designed to disolve quickly under your tongue directly into the bloodstream, it never goes anywhere near the stomach. And if you consider 100mg too much it is also available in 50mg.
Khundon1975
Rock Star
Rock Star

Post by Khundon1975 »

I was on 75mg dispersable aspirin daily for 17 years and cardiologist stopped them only 2 months ago.
I was also on 75mg of Clopidigrel (anticoagulant) amongst lots of other drugs after two MI’s back in 2000.
To protect the stomach I took Lansoprazol 15mg daily.