Water supplies to residential areas

Hua Hin general discussion, observations and chat. Hua Hin topics that don't really fit anywhere else.
Jaime
Legend
Legend

Water supplies to residential areas

Post by Jaime »

My house is on one of the developments up Soi 102 and every night between about 6pm and 8pm the city authorities turn off the water supply, leaving just the storage tank to use in the evening. The water comes back on in the early morning. Does this happen everywhere outside the central Hua Hin area and is it a seasonal thing or what? Presumably the big resort hotels are unaffected by this?
lomuamart

Post by lomuamart »

I'm no expert on this, but would reckon the situation is mainly seasonal. As a province, Prachuap is one of the driest in Thailand. It's definitely designated a drought area by the government.
If you havn't got one already, a water pump might help. I understand that without one, the water pressure is regularly below that needed to refill your tank.
The situation is getting better, though. A number of years ago, central HH could go without water for a week - unless you had a pump. Doubt the hotels are affected.
Watch out for Sonkran in a couple of days. The waste of water is criminal, allbeit good fun.
Jaime
Legend
Legend

Post by Jaime »