Flyover at the Southern End of Town

Driving and riding in Hua Hin and Thailand, all topics on cars, pickups, bikes, boats, licenses, roads, and motoring in general.
Big Boy

Flyover at the Southern End of Town

Post by Big Boy »

:rant:
Something I have been observing for many months now, and I just don't understand why.

Drivers will not use the left hand lane travelling South over the flyover at the Southern end of town. Can anybody explain why? OK, TIT and we can get away with undertaking, but why on earth will they not use that left lane? It really winds me me up, day after day all of the traffic except me in that right hand lane.

As it is about 98% of all traffic, I can only guess people on this Forum must be guilty as well, so please, why do you do it?
:rant:
Championship Stoke City 3 - 0 Plymouth Argyle :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Points 48; Position 20
HHTel
Hero
Hero

Re: Flyover at the Southern End of Town

Post by HHTel »

It's always been the same and not just the flyover. In the west, the offside lane is the quietest as it's an 'overtaking lane'. Strangely that's the same as the rule in Thailand but that's totally ignored and even on an empty road, the offside lane has the traffic. Undertaking is also illegal here but most times there is no choice.
I too have the same frustration as yourself and curious to as to why they do it.

Having said that, this new 120/100 kph in the offside lane goes against common sense and also against the overtaking rule.
bigston
Professional
Professional

Post by bigston »

Sorry BB i use the left lane as well..
GroveHillWanderer
Guru
Guru

Post by GroveHillWanderer »

I usually use the left hand lane as well, not least because I then take the first left after coming off the flyover, to head towards our house.

I sometimes go into the right hand lane, but only temporarily to overtake, if there's someone going particularly slowly in the left lane.
Big Boy

Post by Big Boy »