CELTA TEFL or??

Discussion on schools, colleges, universities, educational facilities, teaching, and learning resources for adults and children.
migrant
Addict
Addict

CELTA TEFL or??

Post by migrant »

I wanted to get thoughts, and opinions, on which is better.

I'm a CPA, some teaching experience at the university level and adult education level.

I'm planning on moving to Thailand in 2-3 years.

To supplement income, and because I enjoy it, I'd like to teach. It may be part time, or full, but in order to prepare I want to get a certification.

The proper function of man is to live, not to exist. I shall not waste my days in trying to prolong them. I shall use my time.
johnnyk
Legend
Legend

Re: CELTA TEFL or??

Post by johnnyk »

The CELTA is recognized and respected world-wide, designed by Cambridge Univ which is a leader in ESL and produces excellent teaching materials.
You can do CELTA in BKK where it is cheaper than in the west. It takes a month of hard slogging but at the end of it you will be equipped to get you through a demo lesson and face a classroom of students with some confidence. The rest is up to you in terms of personality along with the accumulation of experience and a bag of tricks to get you through sticky spots. You also have a better chance at the good jobs which demand more than being vertical.
BTW people actually fail the CELTA, perhaps another reason it is well-regarded.
There are many TEFL/TESOL certs out there but the hirer may not know which are good and which aren't and often can't compare one with another. There are a lot of bogus ones, basically a fancy bit of paper. Your cert may be a good one then you discover they have hired a faker at the same wage! The unpleasant proof for many of the fakers comes when asked to do a demo or confronting students on the first day and discovering something icky in your pants.
Happiness can't buy money
nanyang
Professional
Professional

Post by nanyang »