Getting employed. What is needed?

Visa questions, companies, work permits, employment, insurance, banking and finance, and legal issues.
golferstu

Getting employed. What is needed?

Post by golferstu »

As the title suggests i am looking to get employed. I have lots of technical knowledge on IT & telecommunications and i am certain my services are needed somewhere in the precinct. But i am not all too familiar with the formalities of employment, and permits. That's were you come in.

What are we looking at here?

Say, for example, that i would want to join a Thai company as something simple as a salesman. Or that i would like to start a company and work on my own, offering a high demand service.

Obviously i would require a work permit, right? Anything else?

I am not looking for anyone to walk me through the process or anything like that. But if you have went through with this, please share your experience of it and what not.

Stu
margaretcarnes
Rock Star
Rock Star

Re: Getting employed. What is needed?

Post by margaretcarnes »

Hi Stu - not as easy as it sounds. Thailands' work permit laws are very strict - you wouldn't for example find employment with a Thai company as a salesman, because Thai nationals can do that job. Pretty much all jobs which Thais can do are barred to foreigners.
There is a list somewhere on the web listing the no go jobs and the possible exemptions.
Large Thai companies do recruit foreigners though who have specific skills and experience in areas which they need - these can sometimes include one off projects in engineering and design for example. But recent case where a European architect was used to design the latest, and highest, building in Bangkok caused doubts about the legality of the building itself.
Foreign chefs, musicians, golf pros etc are often employed by hotels, and of course native English speakers have for a long time filled some teaching posts, but the present regime apparently wants to reduce their numbers.