Golf courses & training

Sub-forum for discussion on golf in Hua Hin and Thailand.
PatrickThierry
Novice
Novice

Golf courses & training

Post by PatrickThierry »

Hi,

Which Golf courses would you recommend?
I'm a beginner. I need to take lessons.

Thanks

Patrick
buksida

Re: Golf courses & training

Post by buksida »

John Wither is about the best teaching pro in the area (that said, I still slice it).

He can be found at Mongkol Driving Range or contacted though this website: http://www.huahingolfacademy.com
Who is the happier man, he who has braved the storm of life and lived or he who has stayed securely on shore and merely existed? - Hunter S Thompson
T.I.G.R.
Guru
Guru

Post by T.I.G.R. »

Depends on where you are. You most certainly need to take lessons before attempting to play. If you are near downtown you can go to Pai Mai driving range just off the road to Elephant land or whatever it is......we call it the Klong Road and it goes from just past Palm Hills Golf course to a hundred yards or so past the driving range. They have at least two good pros there, and I would say it's the second best range in the area.

If you're further north there is Tavimook Driving range near Index. They have at least one good instructor that I know of. It's on Petchkasem near Index...kind of hard to miss, other side of the road from Index and south of the Hua Hin Hospital a couple of turns. A pretty good range but you can't see where your balls land a lot of the time which turns me off.

Even further north in Cha Am there is a small driving range on the road to the beach. You would turn toward the beach at the traffic light....kind of tough to give directions from there, post a reply if you want and I'll try to be more specific. Don't know of anyone giving lessons there though.

Palm Hills has sort of a driving range but you can get lessons there from a couple of sources.....you'd have to ask in the Pro Shop I guess.