Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Sub-forum for discussion on golf in Hua Hin and Thailand.
Post Reply
SunandFun
Guru
Guru
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:40 am

Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Post by SunandFun » Fri Nov 08, 2013 5:57 pm

I was a Referee at Asian Tour Qualifying School a few years back and witnessed a strange occurrence. Two players were on Hole 18 at Majestic Golf Course. Both were playing their third shot from about 80-90 yards. The first player hits the ball and it goes in the hole. Eagle three! The second player hits his shot and his ball flies directly in the hole, knocking both balls out. The Ruling... The first ball "has been holed out" according to the Rules and is replaced in the cup, the second ball is played where it comes to rest. Couldn't believe such a unique occurrence.
I wouldn't have to manage my anger if people could learn to mange their stupidity!

PET
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:24 pm
Location: Hua Hin

Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Post by PET » Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:36 pm

I was playing on Monday after the weekend storms and a drive came to rest against the roots of a tree that had blown over ( actually in the hole where the roots had been) and up against the tree. The top of the tree had been pruned of branches whilst awaiting for it to be lifted and replanted back. Was this a free lift under 'groundsmans workings'. Also if no work had been carried out by the grounds staff would the decision be different?
VERAX - What matters in life is not where you are from but where you are going.

SunandFun
Guru
Guru
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:40 am

Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Post by SunandFun » Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:13 am

I will give you couple of rulings to consider. If this is on hole 8 at Springfield, and the tree had been trimmed and was being replanted, then yes, it was GUR. If no work had been carried out, or if it was not marked with a white line surrounding the area, or declared by "Local Rules" to be GUR (Ground Under Repair), then no relief would be granted.
Definition of Ground Under Repair is at the end of this post.

DECISION 25/7
Fallen Tree in Process of Being Removed
Q. A greenkeeper is in the process of sawing up a fallen tree and stacking the wood. What is the status of such a tree?
A. The tree in its entirety is ground under repair as it constitutes “material piled for removal” – see definition of “Ground Under Repair”.

DECISION 25/8
Tree Stump
Q. Do the Rules provide relief without penalty from a tree stump?
A. No, not unless it has been marked as ground under repair or it is in the process of being unearthed or cut up for removal, in which case it is “material piled for removal” and thus automatically ground under repair – see definition of “Ground Under Repair”.
A tree stump which the committee intends to remove, but which is not in the process of being removed, is not automatically ground under repair.

DECISION 25/9
Fallen Tree Attached to Stump
Q. A tree has fallen onto a fairway due to a windstorm and is still attached to the stump. Does it constitute ground under repair?
A. No. However, a player could request relief from the committee and the committee would be justified in declaring the area covered by the tree to be ground under repair.

GROUND UNDER REPAIR
“Ground Under Repair” is any part of the course so marked by order of the Committee or so declared by its authorised representative. All ground and any grass, bush, tree or other growing thing within the ground under repair are part of the ground under repair. Ground under repair includes material piled for removal and a hole made by a greenkeeper, even if not so marked. Grass cuttings and other material left on the course that have been abandoned
and are not intended to be removed are not ground under repair unless so marked.
When the margin of ground under repair is defined by stakes, the stakes are inside the ground under repair, and the margin of the ground under repair is defined by the nearest outside points of the stakes at ground level. When both stakes and lines are used to indicate ground under repair, the stakes identify the ground under repair and the lines define the margin of the ground under repair. When the margin of ground under repair is defined by a line on the ground, the line itself is in the ground under repair. the margin of ground under repair extends vertically downwards but not upwards.
A ball is in ground under repair when it lies in or any part of it touches the ground under repair.
Stakes used to define the margin of or identify ground under repair are obstructions.
Note: The Committee may make a local Rule prohibiting play from ground under repair or an environmentally-sensitive area defined as ground under repair.

Happy Golfing.
I wouldn't have to manage my anger if people could learn to mange their stupidity!

SunandFun
Guru
Guru
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:40 am

New Rules for 2014 Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Post by SunandFun » Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:55 pm

Hello Golf Community. As of January 1, 2014, the Decisions on the Rules of Golf 2014-2015 will be in effect. For those of you interested, I am posting some of the changes.

As always, if ever you have questions on any Rule, if you post your situation and give as much information as possible, I will gladly give you a Ruling based on the Decisions to the Rules of Golf. I was certified at R&A in Scotland and am a Professional Referee on Asian Tour, European Tour and many local tours. My favorite change is Decision 18/4. See below. Happy Golfing!

NEW DECISIONS ON RULES OF GOLF ANNOUNCED
By USGA and The R&A
November 19, 2013
A total of 87 changes have been made to the Decisions on the Rules of Golf that will go into effect for the 2014-15 cycle.
FAR HILLS, N.J. and ST. ANDREWS, Scotland – As part of a continuing commitment to provide greater clarity to the Rules of Golf, the United States Golf Association (USGA) and The R&A, golf’s governing bodies, today announced revisions to the 2012-2013 edition of “Decisions on the Rules of Golf.” The changes, part of a customary two-year Decisions review cycle, become effective on Jan. 1, 2014.
RELATED CONTENT
Joint Statement On Use Of Video In Administering Rules
Graphic: Explanation Of The New Decisions “Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2014-2015” contains more than 1,200 entries addressing specific situations under the Rules of Golf. A total of 87 changes have been made to the 2012-2013 Decisions book: three new Decisions, 59 revised Decisions, one re-numbered Decision and 24 Decisions withdrawn.
“The Rules of Golf are constantly evolving,” said Thomas Pagel, USGA senior director of the Rules of Golf. “The Decisions review process is an opportunity for The R&A and the USGA to continue to help make the game more understandable and accessible for players, officials and others who participate in the game.”
David Rickman, The R&A’s executive director – Rules and Equipment Standards, said, “It is important to consider carefully new developments in the game and that is reflected in the new Decisions on the Rules which give greater clarity on the use of smart phones and advanced video technology.”
Among the changes for 2014-2015, four decisions are particularly noteworthy:
New Decision 14-3/18 confirms that players can access reports on weather conditions on a smartphone during a round without breaching the Rules. Importantly, this new Decision also clarifies that players are permitted to access information on the threat of an impending storm in order to protect their own safety.
New Decision 18/4 provides that, where enhanced technological evidence (e.g. HDTV, digital recording or online visual media, etc.) shows that a ball has left its position and come to rest in another location, the ball will not be deemed to have moved if that movement was not reasonably discernible to the naked eye at the time.
Revised Decision 25-2/0.5 helps to clarify when a golf ball is considered to be embedded in the ground through the use of illustrations.
Revised Decision 27-2a/1.5 allows a player to go forward up to approximately 50 yards without forfeiting his or her right to go back and play a provisional ball.
Printed copies of “The Rules of Golf” and “Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2014-2015” are available from the USGA and The R&A.
Last edited by SunandFun on Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
I wouldn't have to manage my anger if people could learn to mange their stupidity!

SunandFun
Guru
Guru
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:40 am

More on Video evidence Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answer

Post by SunandFun » Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:12 am

Recommend reading the previous posting before this one. This is a continuing discussion. Many have questions the use of TV and people calling in reports of Rules Infractions. Many thought tho seas unfair, etc. This will keep you in the continuing discussion that takes place regarding this and all other issues. Note that this is effective January 1, 2014 and not before.

USGA, THE R&A JOINT STATEMENT ON USE OF VIDEO, OTHER VISUAL EVIDENCE IN ADMINISTERING RULES OF GOLF
November 19, 2013
FAR HILLS, N.J. and ST. ANDREWS, Scotland – The United States Golf Association (USGA) and R&A Rules Ltd (The R&A) today released the following statement concerning their ongoing review of the use of video and other visual evidence in administering the Rules of Golf:
In recent years, the rapid development of video technology, such as HDTV, digital recording and on-line visual media, has brought a new level of scrutiny to Rules issues arising in elite golf tournaments. This has led to an increasing number of inquiries to officials from television viewers and others about whether a breach of the Rules has occurred, sometimes resulting in breaches of the Rules being identified (and penalties being applied) after the incident itself occurred. Occasionally, the identification of the breach has been after the player has returned his or her score card, which has therefore resulted in disqualification under Rule 6-6d. These developments have generated considerable discussion concerning whether, how and when such video evidence should be used.
The Rules of Golf Committees of the USGA and The R&A have been reviewing the operation of the Rules in the light of these continuing technological developments in order to determine whether any changes to the Rules are appropriate. In April 2011, the USGA and The R&A adopted Decision 33-7/4.5, which authorizes Committees to waive the disqualification penalty for a breach of Rule 6-6d in narrow circumstances in which the player could not reasonably have been aware of a breach of the Rules that later was identified only through video evidence.
Since adopting Decision 33-7/4.5, the USGA and The R&A have continued to review the impact of video technology on the game. With input and assistance from representatives of the professional tours who serve as consulting members of the Rules of Golf Committees, the USGA and The R&A are now introducing a further modification of the Rules, with effect from January 1, 2014, to address the use of video technology in determining whether a ball at rest has “moved” within the meaning of the Rules. New Decision 18/4 will provide that, where enhanced technological evidence shows that a ball has left its position and come to rest in another location, the ball will not be deemed to have moved if that movement was not reasonably discernible to the naked eye at the time. The Decision ensures that a player is not penalized under Rule 18-2 in circumstances where the fact that the ball had changed location could not reasonably have been seen without the use of enhanced technology.
Beyond these Decisions, as part of the 2016 Rules review, the Rules of Golf Committees will be discussing other issues concerning the possible effect of video technology on the application of the Rules to the playing of the game, such as the necessary degree of precision in marking, lifting and replacing a ball, the estimation of a reference point for taking relief, and the overall question of the appropriate penalty for returning an incorrect score card where the player was unaware that a penalty had been incurred. As is true of the rules in many other televised sports, adapting to developments in technology and video evidence is an important ongoing topic in making and applying the Rules of Golf.
In pursuing this continuing review, the USGA and The R&A will be guided by their longstanding position that a Committee should consider all evidence, regardless of the source, that may be relevant in determining the facts to which the Rules must be applied. As reflected in the interpretations contained in the Decisions, for questions of fact, the resolution of doubt must be made in the light of all relevant circumstances and be based on the weight of the evidence. To reach a correct ruling, all evidence from witnesses concerning a possible breach of the Rules should be considered, whether those witnesses are participants in the competition, non-participants such as spectators, or persons who have reviewed television footage and the like. Additionally, the Decisions provide that a Committee may make or revise a ruling at a later time if further information becomes available before the competition has closed.
In many other sports, there are good and understandable reasons for imposing a strict time limit on the review and correction of rules decisions. In golf, however, even at the elite level, players often apply the Rules to themselves without the assistance of a referee and, in stroke play, are responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole. Moreover, competitions are often played over more than one day and, in stroke play, the outcome typically is based on total score, making it possible to correct errors significantly after the fact and, indeed, at any time before the competition is closed by virtue of the result being officially announced. For these reasons, disregarding relevant evidence of a breach of the Rules, obtained before the competition has ended, could lead to uncertainty and to unhealthy debate and disagreement about the fairness of a result that was influenced by an incorrect set of facts and failure to apply the Rules properly. If a player has breached a Rule, but this is not discovered until a later time, whether through video evidence or otherwise, such evidence must be considered so that the correct ruling can be applied and the player’s score can be recorded accurately. In their ongoing review of the use of video and other enhanced technology, the USGA and The R&A will continue to be guided by the view that, regardless of the timing or the type of evidence used, the integrity of the game is best served by getting the ruling right.
I wouldn't have to manage my anger if people could learn to mange their stupidity!

PET
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:24 pm
Location: Hua Hin

Caddy aligning putt with marked line on ball.

Post by PET » Fri Nov 22, 2013 2:14 pm

A ball has a marked line to assist alignment to the hole.
Can a players caddy align the ball towards the hole ( in hopefully the correct line ) then remove the marker and the player putts without any infringement of the rules?
VERAX - What matters in life is not where you are from but where you are going.

SunandFun
Guru
Guru
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:40 am

Re: Caddy aligning putt with marked line on ball.

Post by SunandFun » Fri Nov 22, 2013 2:47 pm

PET wrote:A ball has a marked line to assist alignment to the hole.
Can a players caddy align the ball towards the hole ( in hopefully the correct line ) then remove the marker and the player putts without any infringement of the rules?
Yes, see the related Decisions below. The Caddie holds the same status of the Player in that his or her actions are considered to be the same as the Player themselves. So if the Caddie replaces the ball incorrectly or in the wrong place and the player does not correct it, the Player will be responsible for the appropriate penalty. There is no problem that the Caddie sets the ball "on line" or gives the Player a line for the putt.

LIFTING AND MARKING BALL
20-1/0.5
Whether Player Himself Must Lift Ball
Q. Rule 20-1 states: “A ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorised by the player.” on the other hand, other Rules, e.g. Rules 24-2b(i) and 25-1b(i), state that the player shall lift the ball. does Rule 20-1 override other Rules which imply that the player himself must lift the ball?
A. Yes.

20-3a/0.5
Whether Player Himself Must Place or Replace Ball
Q. Rule 20-3a provides that, in some instances, a person other than the player may place or replace the player’s ball. On the other hand, other Rules, e.g. Rule 12-2, state that the player must place or replace the ball. Does Rule 20-3a override other Rules that imply that the player himself must place or replace the ball?
A. Yes. (Revised)

Happy Golfing! :cheers:

duan
Member
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:15 am

Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Post by duan » Tue Apr 29, 2014 11:35 pm

I had a new experience yesterday during a round on a brief trip back to the UK when my ball went 9 inches into a rabbit hole in a bunker protecting the green. In a friendly match where neither of us were sure of the rule I was allowed to retrieve the ball and drop it back into the hole without penalty. Nobody in the locker room was certain of the correct ruling and the pro was not about when we left so I would be grateful to learn the correct ruling just in case I encounter a similar problem in the future!

SunandFun
Guru
Guru
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:40 am

Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Post by SunandFun » Wed Apr 30, 2014 12:16 am

Duan, If you need the complete Rule 25-1. let me know and I will post it.

BURROWING ANNIMAL
A “burrowing animal” is an animal (other than a worm, insect or the like) that makes a hole for habitation or shelter, such as a rabbit, mole, groundhog, gopher or salamander.
Note: A hole made by a non-burrowing animal, such as a dog, is not an abnormal ground condition unless marked or declared as ground under repair.

If the hole and ball were outside of the bunker, then free relief outside of the bunker but not on the putting green is available. If the hole and ball are in the bunker, free relief must be in the bunker, or you can drop outside the bunker with a one stroke penalty. Rule 25-1 applies.

25-1. ABNORMAL GROUND CONDITIONS

Exception: A player may not take relief under this Rule if (a) interference by anything other than an abnormal ground condition makes the stroke clearly impracticable or (b) interference by an abnormal ground condition would occur only through use of a clearly unreasonable stroke or an unnecessarily abnormal stance, swing or direction of play.

25-1b/25.5
Application of exception to Rule 25-1b When Ball Lies Underground in Burrowing Animal Hole
Q. through the green, a player’s ball comes to rest underground in a hole made by a burrowing animal. A large bush is immediately next to and overhanging the entrance to the hole. Given the exception to Rule 25-1b, is the player entitled to relief without penalty from the burrowing animal hole?
A. for the purpose of applying the exception to Rule 25-1b, a ball lying underground in a burrowing animal hole is deemed to lie at the entrance to the hole. if the nature of the area surrounding the entrance to the hole is such that it is clearly impracticable for the player to make a stroke at a ball lying at any part of the entrance to the hole (e.g. because of the overhanging bush), the player is not entitled to relief without penalty under Rule 25-1b. otherwise, the player is entitled to relief without penalty under Rule 25-1b.
If the ball lies in a hole, but is not underground, it is the position of the ball, rather than the entrance to the hole, which is relevant in determining whether the exception to Rule 25-1b applies. (Revised)

25-1b/25
Ball Enters Burrowing Animal Hole in Bunker and is Found Underneath Putting Green
Q. A ball enters a burrowing animal hole in a green side bunker and is found underneath the putting green. As the ball is not in the bunker or on the putting green, is relief taken in accordance with Rule 25-1b(i), i.e. through the green?
A. Yes. The player would drop the ball without penalty on a part of the course through the green within one club-length of the nearest point to its position in the burrowing animal hole that avoids interference from the condition and is not in a hazard, not on a putting green and not nearer the hole.

I believe 25-1b/25 is closer to your scenario. Happy Golfing. David Range
I wouldn't have to manage my anger if people could learn to mange their stupidity!

User avatar
hhfarang
Hero
Hero
Posts: 10858
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:27 am
Location: North Carolina

Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Post by hhfarang » Wed Apr 30, 2014 7:30 am

What is the ruling on this? :D :D :D The golfer (Peterson) pushed the animal away and it looks like the animal's tail moved the ball. :shock:

My brain is like an Internet browser; 12 tabs are open and 5 of them are not responding, there's a GIF playing in an endless loop,... and where is that annoying music coming from?

lomuamart
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9273
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 12:25 pm
Location: hua hin

Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Post by lomuamart » Wed Apr 30, 2014 9:10 am

I would have thought "outside interference" and the ball's dropped with no penalty.

SunandFun
Guru
Guru
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:40 am

Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Post by SunandFun » Wed Apr 30, 2014 5:14 pm

DEFINITION of OUTSIDE AGENCY
In match play, an “outside agency” is any agency other than either the player’s or opponent’s side, any caddie of either side, any ball played by either side at the hole being played or any equipment of either side.
In stroke play, an outside agency is any agency other than the competitor’s side, any caddie of the side, any ball played by the side at the hole being played or any equipment of the side.
An outside agency includes a referee, a marker, an observer and a forecaddie. Neither wind nor water is an outside agency.

RULE: Ball at Rest Moved,
18-1. BY OUTSIDE AGENCY
If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.
Note: It is a question of fact whether a ball has been moved by an outside agency. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that an outside agency has moved the ball. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must play the ball as it lies or, if the ball is not found, proceed under Rule 27-1.

Lomuamart, the ball should be placed not dropped since the position was known before it moved. If it is not known, then play from the new position. No penalty.

If you drop when you should have placed or via versa, it is a two stroke penalty.

LIFTING BALL WRONGLY DROPPED OR PLACED
20-6/1
Ball Placed When Required to Be dropped or dropped When Required to Be Placed; correction of error
Q. A player placed a ball when he should have dropped it or dropped it when he should have placed it. Before playing a stroke, may the player lift the ball, without penalty, under Rule 20-6 and proceed correctly?
A. Yes. Otherwise the player would lose the hole in match play or incur a penalty of two strokes in stroke play for a breach of the applicable Rule.

HAPPY GOLFING, David Range
I wouldn't have to manage my anger if people could learn to mange their stupidity!

brokendown
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 1:39 pm

Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Post by brokendown » Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:46 pm

I know that it is not acceptable to ask a partner what club he used for a shot;but is it illegal under the rules of golf?
is it illegal to ask
is it illegal to answer?

SunandFun
Guru
Guru
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:40 am

Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Post by SunandFun » Sat Oct 11, 2014 3:39 pm

brokendown wrote:I know that it is not acceptable to ask a partner what club he used for a shot;but is it illegal under the rules of golf?
is it illegal to ask
is it illegal to answer?
Hi BrokenDown,
Great question. Let me first quote the definition and Rule and then I will comment.

Advice
“Advice” is any counsel or suggestion that could influence a player in
determining his play, the choice of a club or the method of making a stroke.
Information on the Rules, distance or matters of public information, such
as the position of hazards or the flagstick on the putting green, is not advice.

RULE 8-1. Advice
During a stipulated round, a player must not:
a. give advice to anyone in the competition playing on the course other than
his partner, or
b. ask for advice from anyone other than his partner or either of their caddies.
PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE:
Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.

Decision 8-1/6
Asking Opponent or Fellow-Competitor What Club He Used at Previous Hole
Q. During play of the 6th hole, A asked B what club he (B) had used on the
4th hole, which is a par-3 of a similar length. Was A in breach of Rule 8-1?
A. No.

Decision 8-1/7
After Player Has Played to Green He Asks Opponent or Fellow-Competitor What Club He Used in Playing to Green
Q. A plays his second shot which lands on the green. B does likewise. A then
asks B what club he used for his second shot. Was A in breach of Rule 8-1?
A. No.

Decision 8-1/8
Comment About Club Selection After Stroke
Q. After playing a stroke, a player says: “I should have used a 5‑iron.” Was
the player in breach of Rule 8-1?
A. If the statement was made casually, there was no breach. If the statement
was made to another player who had a shot to play from about the same
position, there was a breach.

Decision 8-1/9
Misleading Statement About Club Selection
Q. A made a statement regarding his club selection which was purposely
misleading and was obviously intended to be overheard by B, who had a
similar shot. What is the ruling?
A. A was in breach of Rule 8-1 and lost the hole in match play or incurred a
two-stroke penalty in stroke play.

Decision 8-1/10
Looking into Another Player’s Bag to Determine Club Used
Q. A looks into B’s bag to determine which club B used for his last stroke. Is
this the equivalent of asking for advice?
A. No. Information obtained by observation is not advice. But see also
Decision 8-1/11.

Decision 8-1/11
Removing Towel Covering Another Player’s Clubs to Determine Club Used
Q. Decision 8-1/10 states that it is not a breach of Rule 8-1 for A to look
into B’s golf bag to determine which club B used for his last stroke. Suppose a
towel was covering B’s clubs and A removed the towel in order to determine
which club B had used, would that be a breach of Rule 8-1?
A. Yes. A player is prohibited from obtaining such information through a
physical act.

So you can see that the Rule can have many outcomes depending on the circumstances. I hope this gives you a good idea of what is allowed and what is not allowed. And it is "not acceptable" or "illegal" only because it is "against the Rules of Golf" It is not a Moral or Ethical decision only a Rules Decision. While playing golf, if the Rules allow for you to take an action, you are entitled to use the Rules to your advantage.

HAPPY GOLFING!

centermid7
Professional
Professional
Posts: 415
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:43 pm

Re: Golf Rules - Questions and Answers

Post by centermid7 » Sat Oct 11, 2014 5:01 pm

RULE 8-1. Advice
During a stipulated round, a player must not:
a. give advice to anyone in the competition playing on the course other than
his partner, or
b. ask for advice from anyone other than his partner or either of their caddies.

The original question from Brokendown is faulty in that he suggests that it is not "acceptable" to ask ones partner. Indeed it is acceptable to both ask and for the partner to answer if we are talking about a team event. Not to be confused with two people just sharing a cart for example.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests