Out at night in Thailand

Discussion on where to go when the sun goes down in Hua Hin; bars, pubs, clubs, karaoke and general nightlife.
tonyridesahd
Rookie
Rookie

Out at night in Thailand

Post by tonyridesahd »

Don't want to sound like a party pooper, but I have not been to Thailand before so I am a rookie. Just would like to know how safe it is in the evenings to be out and about walking? And if you should carry a wallet or just keep the money in your front pocket? Granted, I am from Baltimore, not exactly a model city by any means, but every area has it's good and bad, so any suggestions from you veterans out there would be well appreciated!
richard
Deceased
Deceased

Re: Out at night in Thailand

Post by richard »

Depends on what you are into and never flash your wad

Personally I only carry cash (no cards) and a copy of my passport and a note of my residence

Thailand is basically safer than most of the globe IMO providing you are streetwise
RICHARD OF LOXLEY

It’s none of my business what people say and think of me. I am what I am and do what I do. I expect nothing and accept everything. It makes life so much easier.
Norseman
Rock Star
Rock Star

Post by Norseman »

If you search the forum you will find the answers.
Please read here: http://www.huahinafterdark.com/forum/vi ... =3&t=11183
johnnyk
Legend
Legend

Post by johnnyk »

Use common sense and don't venture into dark, unknown areas.
Don't flash your cash. Leave the bulging, visible wallet at home, carry paper money in several different pockets with closures. Keep large and small denominations in separate pockets. Don't lose your temper over 20 baht, let them win the small stuff - its not worth a nasty situation.
Happiness can't buy money
migrant
Addict
Addict

Post by migrant »

I've been to Baltimore, and the same rules apply whether there, Thailand, LA or anywhere.