Blackwater Fever - any Doctors around?

Medical issues, doctors, dentists, opticians and hospitals in Hua Hin and Thailand.
caller
Hero
Hero

Blackwater Fever - any Doctors around?

Post by caller »

On Saturday the G/F had an accident on her motorbike in N.E. Thailand - came off in bad weather, sprained an ankle and generally bruised. Bike a bit of a wreck apparantly - she was very lucky (wearing good safety helmet).

She was due to be released from Hospital yesterday but they've since diagnosed a problem with the Kidneys and apparently she has Blackwater fever? I've looked this up on Google and it appears to be related to Maleria - anyone got any experience of this?

But she seems to be putting it down to the accident - that she say's is what she has been told?

I'm not an expert - does anyone know more about this?

She seems pretty laid back about it - how worried should I - and she - be? Anyone know of it around HH?

Perhaps an idea for a new forum could be `wellbeing in HH'?

Many thanks.
lomuamart

Post by lomuamart »

I've just googled it myself and would reckon that a check up is definitely advisable.
As you'll have probably seen, the consensus of medical feeling is that the complaint can be brought on by doses of quinnine that used to be used to combat malaria. Quinnine has now been replaced by other medicines. One potential side effect was renal damage- hence the doctors mentioning your gf's problems with her kidneys.
Malaria and dengue fever I've heard of in HH, but very rarely. This is the first mention of BWF I've come across.
I'd reckon better safe than sorry and get a second opinion asap.
dr dave soul monsta
Deceased
Deceased

Post by dr dave soul monsta »