my recommendations

Restaurants, food, beverage, hawkers, and local markets and suppliers. This is the place for discussion on Hua Hin's culinary options.
dan
Amateur
Amateur

my recommendations

Post by dan »

So I've been visiting Hua Hin almost every year since 1986. Never have actually lived there for more than a month as my work won't really allow it. A couple yrs back i fell off my bicycle and couldn't play golf anymore or bicycle so i went out an bought a condo between Cha Am and Hua Hin. Now I spend about 4 months a year there and still love the place.

Being a creature of habit I've my favorite eateries in Hua Hin and don't stray from them very often. That's not to say there aren't 50 other good or great restuarants.....anyway, below are my haunts and they are not necessarily listed in the order of what's best.... just a few thoughts i sent to a friend last month who was visiting Hua Hin for the first time.

Orchard Restaurant at Fulay Hotel near the Hilton...excellent
nouveou(spelling?) thai cuisine with euro food as well. i recommend the
spicy beef salad!! very nice people and the place i always stayed b4 moving out to the burbs

the Indian restaurant on the opposite side of the street and just north is
also excellent

La Vistole just opposite the Hilton is owned by Enrico, a golf buddy of
mine. Good authentic italian food and atmosphere

Sailom Hotel at the southern end of Hua Hin is an old Hotel with a great
beachside restuarant. I first stayed there with Thai friends in
1986......the restaurant very popular with Thai people so you know it must
be good...not many tourists know it exists

at the Hua Hin Shopping Mall is the main supermarket for the area....u can
find almost everything there

not far from the above but on a small sidestreet is the Euro Bakery with
great pastries and breads.....they also have some good cheeses

the Munich wine shop is also owned by a golfing friend ....has some fairly