Email provider

Technology, computers, internet, websites, mobiles, cameras, audio and video.
SPONSORS: Hua Hin Web Design
Nereus
Hero
Hero

Email provider

Post by Nereus »

The free email that I have been using for the last 15 years is shutting down. They did post a general notice about it with an offer to upgrade to a paid account. As I did not do it the first day the notice was posted, the link that they provide does not now work, just opens with a message "you are not eligible for an upgrade at this time"! I have tried to contact them by email, but no response.

This morning it came up with: "you can no longer send emails"! Can still receive and read until next month, following which the whole shooting match will be deleted!

So, who is using what? I do have a Hotmail account, but do not want to use that as a secure account. Gmail seems to have a good reputation, but what about the advertising, is it a PITA?

Any recommendations anyone?
May you be in heaven half an hour before the devil know`s you`re dead!
PeteC

Re: Email provider

Post by PeteC »

I use Gmail and I don't get/have any advertising at all. I can't explain it except that they ask for age and I signed up about 2 years ago when 65. Perhaps they give old farts a break?! :laugh:

Yahoo is not bad but you do get advertising. They're being taken over by Verizon shortly so I would think their email service will get new bells and whistles. I got a yahoo.co.uk email address to try to separate it from the run of the mill yahoo.com address.

If you don't mind parting with $40 per year, take a look at Fastmail. Pete :cheers:

EDIT: Fastmail is an Australian company based in Melbourne. Good company.
Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed. Source
StevePIraq
Rock Star
Rock Star

Post by StevePIraq »

Gmail & Hotmail/Outlook are both good, personally I would not touch Yahoo after all the hacking they have had.