The Digital Surgery

Technology, computers, internet, websites, mobiles, cameras, audio and video.
SPONSORS: Hua Hin Web Design
Post Reply
User avatar
johnjar
Suspended
Suspended
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:34 pm
Location: soi bonkai , Thailand

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by johnjar » Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:12 pm

Thanks Homer will try that next time :)

MLS
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:14 am

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by MLS » Fri Feb 02, 2018 12:38 pm

Just wanted to add this - not sure if it’s bonkers advice or if it might actually work, but I’ll report back here with the result if/when I need to try it:
Because I don’t print frequently, I abandoned my old printer with its (for me) false-economy bulk ink supply and this week I bought a new printer and will stick with using standard cartridges. The bloke in the IT shop on 3/F Market Village told me to keep the cartridges in the printer when I don’t use it for any length of time, and, if they don’t work when I next go to print, take them out and place directly in a bowl containing 1cm hot water. Leave for max 10 minutes, dry them well and replace in the printer. Apparently that can fix the problem (??). Watch this space...

crab
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 5:04 pm
Location: Khao Tao

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by crab » Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:29 pm

Hello. I think this is a wonderful service you're offering. Whether or not you'll be able to help me with my immediate problem, I'm grateful to you for that.

This problem relates to electronic equipment, but not specifically to a computer. Is this within your purview?

In case it is, I'll give here brief details. I've been watching videos for the past few years on my LG Smart TV using an external HD and a WDTV Live playing through a Yamaha RX-V467 receiver, with the sound going direct from the Yamaha to external speakers. The sequence, as I understand it, is sound and video from external HD to WDTV Live to Yamaha; thence video to TV and sound to speakers. Apart from the inherent limitations of the WDTV Live, this system has worked well. Until now.

The power junction box to the house exploded, causing much destruction. I was watching TV through the above system at the time. There was a loud crash and a billow of smoke. I thought the smoke came from the Yamaha, but perhaps not. Early indications are that the television set and the Yamaha may still be undamaged, though I am yet to play anything, sound or video, to verify this. Both turn on. When the system is connected to a Marantz DVD player with a malfunctioning tray, the Marantz logo appears on the tv screen; when I attach the WDTV, the WDTV logo appears. However, in neither case can I play anything. The WDTV Live turns on, but seems unable to read the files on any attached external drive. I did try to connect my ancient iPod, but am not sure whether I was doing so correctly. It did not work.

I do not have access to any local TV network.

I should be very grateful for any or all advice, including perhaps a recommendation of some reliable and competent individual whom I could pay to come to my house in Khao Tao and address the various issues. I'm pretty incompetent technically.

Some of my questions. If the Yamaha proves to be undamaged, should I replace the WDTV Live or is there a better way to do things? The WDTV being pretty much obsolete, what should I replace it with? Is there a shop or repair centre in town where I could take the various items to be checked out?

In hope, thank you.

User avatar
404cameljockey
Guru
Guru
Posts: 951
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:14 am

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by 404cameljockey » Sat Feb 03, 2018 6:23 pm

MLS wrote:
Fri Feb 02, 2018 12:38 pm
Just wanted to add this - not sure if it’s bonkers advice or if it might actually work, but I’ll report back here with the result if/when I need to try it:
Because I don’t print frequently, I abandoned my old printer with its (for me) false-economy bulk ink supply and this week I bought a new printer and will stick with using standard cartridges. The bloke in the IT shop on 3/F Market Village told me to keep the cartridges in the printer when I don’t use it for any length of time, and, if they don’t work when I next go to print, take them out and place directly in a bowl containing 1cm hot water. Leave for max 10 minutes, dry them well and replace in the printer. Apparently that can fix the problem (??). Watch this space...
My problem with inkjet printers was always the print head getting gummed up, not the cartridges. I used to soak them in alcohol and it sometimes worked. Sometimes not....

If you can be happy with just black and white printing a cheap laser printer is economical and avoids this problem. You can buy dodgy replacement toner cartridges rather than actual brand if you need to save more money. I've had the same colour laser for a lot of years but because it's old the replacement part it needs would cost 6000 Baht, so I'm, trying a b/w Brother HL-1110 now, it's very nice - sharp and fast prints, and I haven't missed the colour yet (will need to go somewhere when I need passport photos now though). :/

User avatar
404cameljockey
Guru
Guru
Posts: 951
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:14 am

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by 404cameljockey » Sat Feb 03, 2018 6:25 pm

crab wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:29 pm
Hello. I think this is a wonderful service you're offering. Whether or not you'll be able to help me with my immediate problem, I'm grateful to you for that.
I don't have an answer for you, but I hope someone does; anyone who uses words like 'purview' deserves some attention. Good luck!

:)

crab
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 5:04 pm
Location: Khao Tao

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by crab » Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:36 am

404cameljockey wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 6:25 pm
crab wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:29 pm
Hello. I think this is a wonderful service you're offering. Whether or not you'll be able to help me with my immediate problem, I'm grateful to you for that.
I don't have an answer for you, but I hope someone does; anyone who uses words like 'purview' deserves some attention. Good luck!

:)
Thank you, 404cameljockey. I've now posted this enquiry directly in the Digital Realm, in the hope that it will receive more exposure there.

robcar
Professional
Professional
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:28 am

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by robcar » Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:15 am

Anyone else having a problem logging in to Hotmail/Outlook this morning.

Update at 08.55. Just had another go with 3 browsers (Firefox, Chrome and Opera) still no joy. Opera says it can't find the server, the other 2 say the site can't be reached. :banghead: :banghead:
Last edited by robcar on Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Thistle
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 5:15 pm
Location: Hua Hin

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by Thistle » Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:24 am

Have managed to open mine successfully earlier this morning,no apparent delay/problem.

Bluesky
Guru
Guru
Posts: 634
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 1:56 pm
Location: Hua Hin, Outback Queensland

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by Bluesky » Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:28 am

I have not had any issues opening with my iPad however it is not opening from the Australian link on my iMac and is timing out.
'Diplomacy is the art of telling people to go to hell in such a way they ask for directions'. -Winston Churchill-

robcar
Professional
Professional
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:28 am

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by robcar » Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:07 am

All back now on all 3 browsers. Tried the 'is it just me' which said it was up. Must have been a little nastyness intruding into my system. Just checked with virus checker with no negative reports.

Thanks for your swift replies

Bluesky
Guru
Guru
Posts: 634
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 1:56 pm
Location: Hua Hin, Outback Queensland

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by Bluesky » Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:13 am

Screen Shot 2018-02-09 at 9.07.13 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-02-09 at 9.07.13 AM.png (25.4 KiB) Viewed 186 times
Still having issues with Aust link on IMac ( time out) but iPad is fine.
'Diplomacy is the art of telling people to go to hell in such a way they ask for directions'. -Winston Churchill-

NOKYAI
Guru
Guru
Posts: 836
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 1:38 am
Location: Hua hin
Contact:

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by NOKYAI » Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:59 am

I lost internet at about 2.30 yesterday in the Mon mai area, 3 calls to 3 BB service back on about 9:30 this morning.
Now semi retired 60:40 Thailand: UK ( seems to be working well)

User avatar
laser
Member
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 5:17 pm

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by laser » Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:26 am

Bluesky wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:13 am
Still having issues with Aust link on IMac ( time out) but iPad is fine.
I wonder what's a dinky di link, something like outlook.live.com.au?
Try to connect to their direct IP Address
Lookup Hostname: outlook.live.com
Lookup IPv4 Address: 40.97.161.50
Lookup IPv4 Address: 40.97.143.130
Lookup IPv4 Address: 40.97.132.2
Lookup IPv4 Address: 40.97.140.210

Enter say "40.97.161.50" in your browser and see how it goes. My browser throws a certificate error but then duly connects to their login page. If that would work for you then change your current dns server to something more robust, like Google ( 8.8.8.8 ) or OpenDNS ( 208.67.222.222 ).

Bluesky
Guru
Guru
Posts: 634
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 1:56 pm
Location: Hua Hin, Outback Queensland

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by Bluesky » Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:54 am

laser wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:26 am
Bluesky wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:13 am
Still having issues with Aust link on IMac ( time out) but iPad is fine.
I wonder what's a dinky di link, something like outlook.live.com.au?
Try to connect to their direct IP Address
Lookup Hostname: outlook.live.com
Lookup IPv4 Address: 40.97.161.50
Lookup IPv4 Address: 40.97.143.130
Lookup IPv4 Address: 40.97.132.2
Lookup IPv4 Address: 40.97.140.210

Enter say "40.97.161.50" in your browser and see how it goes. My browser throws a certificate error but then duly connects to their login page. If that would work for you then change your current dns server to something more robust, like Google ( 8.8.8.8 ) or OpenDNS ( 208.67.222.222 ).

Thanks kindly for the advice Laser. :thumb: The problem resolved itself about 30 mins ago. Normally don't have any issues, perhaps some sort of bug in the system this morning.
'Diplomacy is the art of telling people to go to hell in such a way they ask for directions'. -Winston Churchill-

User avatar
Big Boy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 31110
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:36 pm
Location: Bon Kai

Connecting Chromecast to the Internet

Post by Big Boy » Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:29 am

When I had True, connecting the Chromecast was a doddle. Since moving to AIS I can not do it. I have a friend who had exact same problems with TOT.

The device is set up using your smart phone, and everything goes brilliantly until the end, and the following is displayed on your phone:
Chromecast up successful

However, we cannot discover your Chromecast on the network. In order to cast cast connect your mobile device and Chromecast to the same Wi-Fi network. Also ensure AP isolation is disabled on your Wi-Fi router.
AIS are washing their hands of it, saying it's my responsibility (I guess I'll be looking for yet another provider soon :banghead: ). Has anybody overcome this problem using AIS or TOT please?
League 1 - Plymouth Argyle....1 Bradford City....0 :dance: :dance: :dance: :dance:
Points 53; Position 6

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests